Flanagan Stops Cruz in 8th, Keeps Title

Terry Flanagan needed little work to retain his WBO lightweight title on Saturday night, as he finished challenger Orlando Cruz in the eighth round of their bout in Cardiff, Wales.

Flanagan controlled the fight from the beginning, with Cruz not getting much offensive action in throughout the fight. Cruz went down to the canvas twice in the eighth round, and the referee, seeing enough, called the bout off.

This is the second time in his career that Cruz has been stopped in the middle of a championship fight. In his first title opportunity, a vacant WBO featherweight title bout in 2013, he was knocked out in the seventh round by Orlando Salido. This is also the third title defense this year in which Flanagan practically dominated his competition. Earlier this year, he retained the title via unanimous decision against both Derry Matthews and Mzonke Fana.

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X

SIGN UP NOW!

Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.