Macfarlane Retains At Bellator 201

It would take three rounds, but Ilima-Lei Macfarlane would remain Bellator’s flyweight champion at Bellator 201.

Macfarlane would dictate the pace of her first title defense from the beginning of the fight until the final minute of round three, where the champion would get Lara to succumb to an armbar. Lara would battle for over a minute against the efforts of Macfarlane, but the champion would earn her fifth submission win inside the Bellator cage, securing her title and tying for second-highest submission victories in Bellator history.

Valerie Latourneau would sit cage-side for the title clash, following her unanimous decision win over Kristina Williams earlier in the evening.

Latourneau is the presumptive challenger to Macfarlane, but Macfarlane has one request for Bellator brass, and that’s to bring the fight to the islands of Hawaii.

It would take one round for Saad Awad to bring down the returning Ryan Couture in the evening’s co-main event. Awad would put the pressure on the second generation fighter, who was returning from a knee injury.

Check out the Bellator 201 results below.

Main card (Paramount at 9 p.m. ET)

Ilima-Lei Macfarlane def.  Alejandra Lara by Submission at 3:55 of Round 3.

Saad Awad def. Ryan Couture by TKO at 4:28 of Round 1.

Valerie Letourneau def. Kristina Williams  by Unanimous decision (29-28 x3)

Juan Archuleta def. Robbie Peralta by KO at 0:14 of Round 3.


Keri Anne Melendez vs. Tiani Valle

Victor Rosas vs. Ricky Furar

Jacob Rosales vs. Joshua Jones

Jay Jay Wilson vs. David Conte

Ed Ruth def. Andy Murad by TKO at 4:59 of Round 2.

Joey Davis def. Craig Plaskett by unanimous decision (30-26 x 3).

Tyrell Fortune def. Giovanni Sarran via TKO at 4:35 of Round 2.

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.