Dirrell Wins WBC Title With Technical Decision

Anthony Dirrell is your new WBC super middleweight champion, but his title win over Avni Yildirim might end up being called a controversial one.

The fight had to go to a technical decision in the 10th round after the referee called off the bout due to a cut above Dirrell’s eye being too big to continue. Dirrell won the technical decision as two judges scored it in favor of Dirrell 96-94 while the third judge had Yildirim ahead 98-92.

The two boxers had a competitive back-and-forth contest that saw both men land more than 200 punches each in the fight. Dirrell was having an easier job landing the big hooks upstairs in the second half of the fight as the punches kept being thrown by both men. Dirrell was battling a cut above his left eye after an accidental clash of heads during the fight. Dirrell started to fight on the inside and was having some success.

The fight was put to a complete stop in the 10th round after a ringside doctor felt the cut was too deep to allow Dirrell to continue. Since the cut was caused due to an accidental clash of heads, the fight had to go to the scorecards in order to determine a winner.

David Benavidez was the WBC’s previous champion, but he was stripped of the title last year for testing positive for the central compound in cocaine. Benavidez was then named “Champion in Recess,” meaning the title was vacant and that Dirrell and Yildirim would fight for the belt. Benavidez is scheduled to fight J’Leon Love on March 16, meaning Benavidez could fight  if he defeats Love.

After the fight, Dirrell, who previously stated that 2019 might be his final year as a boxer, stated that he’d be open to a unification fight against IBF champion Caleb Plant as well as a fight against Benavidez if that fight is offered to him.

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X