Eddie Alvarez’s DQ Loss Against Iuri Lapicus Overturned

Eddie Alvarez no longer has a DQ loss to Iuri Lapicus on his record.

Back on April 7, Alvarez went one-on-one with Lapicus on the main card of ONE on TNT 1. The bout ended in the first round when Lapicus complained of punches to the back of the head. While it appeared Lapicus was turning his head and the illegal strikes weren’t intentional, Alvarez was disqualified.

After the fight, Alvarez told reporters that he would appeal the loss (via MMAFighting).

“I went back to my room and I was able to watch the clip of the fight and see everything and it was a bad call on the referee’s side. The American media is in uproar right now and so are the American fans. I’m going to respectfully ask them to look back at the video and reverse that call.

“All that matters is Iuri’s safety. That’s it right now. That he’s going to be OK. When I go back, I’m in the cage, so emotions run high. The referee, people make bad decisions when emotions run high. I think it was a bad call. I’m mixed emotions right now.”

ONE Championship officials told ESPN that a panel of 15 independent officials along with ONE personnel, judges, and referees have decided to overturn the ruling due to a “procedural misstep” by referee Justin Brown.

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X

Sign Up For News

Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.