Five Top Rank Boxing Cards Announced For October Including Lomachenko vs. Lopez

Vasiliy Lomachenko vs. Teofimo Lopez is official and Top Rank Boxing‘s Bob Arum couldn’t be happier.

Once it was revealed that Lomachenko and Lopez signed their contracts, it was only a matter of time before an announcement would be made. Top Rank made it official as Lomachenko and Lopez will clash in a title unification bout on October 17. The title fight will air live on the major ESPN network.

Here’s what Arum had to say on the megafight in a press release.

“Lomachenko-Lopez is the best fight that can be made in boxing, and we are delighted that it will be available to fans for no extra charge live on ESPN. Teofimo and Vasiliy demanded the fight, and we are glad we could make it happen. Vasiliy has never backed down from a challenge since he turned pro under the Top Rank banner, and Teofimo is a fearless young champion daring to be great. This has all the makings of a modern boxing classic.”

Lomachenko holds the WBA (Super) and WBO Lightweight Titles. Lopez is the IBF Champion. With a record of 14-1, Lomachenko has quickly established himself as one of the top boxers in the world today. Lopez has been perfect at 15-0 and if he can defeat Lomachenko, it would easily be considered the biggest victory of his pro boxing career.

It’s no secret that both men have wanted this fight. They have traded barbs for quite a while and it’ll finally be settled inside the MGM Grand Conference Center in Las Vegas, Nevada. The location has been dubbed the “Las Vegas Bubble” by Top Rank.

Lopez’s father has also added fuel to the fire in this heated rivalry. He has expressed his belief that his son will leave Lomachenko “devastated” and out of action for up to a year.

Here are the four other Top Rank Boxing events announced for October.

Saturday, October 3
Jose Zepeda (32-2, 2 NC, 25 KOs) vs. Ivan Baranchyk (20-1, 13 KOs)
MGM Grand Las Vegas
10 Rounds, Junior Welterweight
ESPN+, 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT

Friday, October 9
Emanuel Navarrete (32-1, 28 KOs) vs. Ruben Villa (18-0, 5 KOs)
MGM Grand Las Vegas
12 Rounds, Vacant WBO Featherweight World Title
ESPN & ESPN Deportes, 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT

Friday, October 23
Artur Beterbiev (15-0, 15 KOs) vs. Adam Deines (19-1-1, 10 KOs)
Moscow
12 Rounds, Beterbiev’s WBC/IBF Light Heavyweight World Titles
ESPN & ESPN Deportes, 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT
Undercard: ESPN+, 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT

Saturday, October 31
Naoya Inoue (19-0, 16 KOs) vs. Jason Moloney (21-1, 18 KOs)
MGM Grand Las Vegas
12 Rounds, Inoue’s IBF/WBA Bantamweight World Titles
ESPN+, 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X

SIGN UP NOW!

Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.