Fury-Wilder III Undercard: Edgar Berlanga Vs. Marcelo Esteban Coceres, Julian Williams Vs. Vladmir Hernandez Say They’re Ready For Battle

A couple of pairs of fresh boxers are getting their spotlight on the undercard of Tyson Fury-Deontay Wilder.

Edgar Berlanga will fight former world title challenger Marcelo Esteban Coceres in a 10-round showdown for the vacant NABO super middleweight belt while Julian Williams will face Mexico’s Vladimir Hernandez in a 10-round junior middleweight bout.

Berlanga-Coceres and Williams-Hernandez will air live at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on ESPN2, ESPN Deportes, FS1 and FOX Deportes, and simulcast on ESPN+. Preliminary bouts will stream live on the ESPN App and FOX Sports App starting at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT.

Berlanga (17-0, 16 KOs) has scored first-round knockouts in his first 16 fights. The knockout streak ended in April after a unanimous decision win over Demond Nicholson.

Coceres (30-2-1, 16 KOs), from Argentina, last fought in June, knocking out Nelson Nicolas Rosalez in the second round.

“I am thrilled to be fighting on the Fury-Wilder III card, and I am coming do what I always do, which is to steal the show and knock out my opponent in devastating fashion,” Berlanga said in a statement. “Coceres is in for a rude awakening on October 9. Do not get up for a snack when I’m fighting. It’s going to be a short, brutal night. Count on it.”

“Berlanga can say what he wants about making it a short night or whatever. The biggest talkers are usually the most insecure,” Coceres replied in a statement. “I know what I bring to the table. I’ve been in there with the better fighters, while he’s feasted on a diet of nobodies. In my mind, it won’t be an upset when I beat this kid. On October 9, it is man versus boy, and that boy is in for a rude awakening.”

Philadelphia’s Williams (27-2-1, 16 KOs) became a unified world champion at 154-pounds in May 2019 when won a close brawl against Jarrett Hurd via unanimous decision. The 31-year-old dropped the titles in his first defense to Jeison Rosario in January 2020.

Hernandez (12-4, 6 KOs), originally from Durango, Mexico, most recently earned a decision victory over longtime contender Alfredo Angulo in August 2020.

“I have been doing nothing but staying ready and training since my last fight. I promise that I’m going to bring the action when that bell rings,” Williams said.

The Fury vs. Wilder III ESPN+ and FOX Sports PPV begins at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Sign Up For News

Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.