GLORY 48 Recap: New Champions Crowned

Two new world champions were crowned inside The Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York City on Friday night, as GLORY Kickboxing hosted GLORY 48.

In the main event of the evening, an interim featherweight champion was crowned as Kevin VanNostrand took the honors, defeating Anvar Bonyazarov in just 66 seconds with a kick to the liver that sent Bonyazarov crumbling to the canvas in pain.

The SuperFight Series main event also saw a new champion crowned, as Anissa Meksen defeated Tiffany van Soest to become the new GLORY Women’s Super Bantamweight Champion. The fight was very close, as the final scorecards could have gone either way.

After not much action occurred in the opening round, the second saw Meksen land cleanly, though van Soest landed more inside the clinch. And while van Soest landed more significant strikes, Meksen landed strikes more often.

In the end, the judges awarded the fight and title to Meksen with scores of 49-46, 49-46 and 48-47.

The event also saw the professional kickboxing debut of UFC veteran Thiago Silva, who took on John King. Silva is the second former UFC fighter to make his professional kickboxing debut in GLORY within the past two months. Back at GLORY 46 in October, Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva, another former UFC star, lost his professional kickboxing debut against current GLORY Heavyweight Champion Rico Verhoeven.

The fight between Silva and King was back-and-forth; both men showed they weren’t afraid to answer and stand toe-to-toe with the other. While King set the pace in the second round and closed the final round with a flurry, it was an impressive striking performance from Silva that earned him the unanimous decision win.

GLORY 48 also saw a four-man middleweight tournament, featuring Wayne Barrett, Robert Thomas, Mike Lemaire and Matt Baker. Lemaire defeated Baker via extra-round decision, and Thomas defeated Barrett via unanimous decision, as the two advanced to the final round.

Thomas left his impact at MSG, knocking out Lemaire early in the third round to win the contender’s tournament.

GLORY 48 Results:
Interim GLORY Featherweight Championship: Kevin VanNostrand def. Anvar Boynazarov via KO (Rd. 1, 1:06)
GLORY Middleweight Tournament Final: Robert Thomas def. Mike Lemaire via KO (Rd. 3, 0:18)
Light Heavyweight: Thiago Silva def. John King via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
GLORY Middleweight Tournament Semifinal: Robert Thomas def. Wayne Barrett via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-27, 29-27)
GLORY Middleweight Tournament Semifinal: Mike Lemaire def. Matt Baker via extra-round unanimous decision (10-9, 10-9, 10-9)

GLORY 48 SuperFight Series Results:
GLORY Women’s Super Bantamweight Championship: Anissa Meksen def. (c.) Tiffany van Soest via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 48-47)
Middleweight: Chris Camozzi def. Kyle Weickhardt via TKO (corner stoppage) (Rd. 2, 3:00)
Lightweight: Elvis Gashi def. Nate Richardson via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
Middleweight: Ivan Galaz def. Paul Banasiak via majority decision (28-28, 29-27, 29-27)
Lightweight: Itay Gershon def. Justin Houghton via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.