GLORY 49: Pereira Retains, Koprivlenski Wins Tourney

Prior to GLORY Redemption, the kickboxing promotion hosted GLORY 49 and the GLORY 49 SuperFight Series at the Ahoy Rotterdam in the Netherlands. Unlike the normal GLORY event, the SuperFight Series card followed the GLORY 49 main card, playing the role of prelims for the GLORY Redemption event that followed.

In the main event of the GLORY 49 SuperFight Series, Alex Pereira made his first successful title defense as GLORY Middleweight Champion, defeating Yousri Belgaroui. The first time these two met was earlier this year at GLORY 40, where Belgaroui defeated Pereira in the event’s GLORY middleweight contender tournament final.

Belgaroui appeared to be in control of the first two rounds, and it was noted that Pereira hit Belgaroui after the second round bell, angering the challenger. Things looked to be bleak for the champion, but in the third round, Pereira opened up a nasty gash on Belgaroui, causing the fight to be stopped and to give Pereira the win.

The focus of the main GLORY 49 card was a lightweight tournament that saw Stoyan Koprivlenski come out on top in the final. Koprivlenski advanced to the final by knocking out Maykol Yurk with a head kick in the first round, while featuring Tyjani Beztati defeated Niclas Larsen by decision to advance to the final.

Koprivlenski was in control for most of the first but was noticeably shaken up a bit by a Beztati counterpunch. But Koprivlenski took the first with a hard spinning backfist that forced Beztati to the canvas. By the second round, it was clear that while Beztati was landing more, Koprivlenski was the one landing the harder shots. After not much action in the third, Koprivlenski took the judges’ scorecards and earned a future lightweight title shot.

GLORY 49 SuperFight Series (1:30 p.m. ET, UFC Fight Pass)
GLORY Middleweight Championship:  (c.) Alex Pereira def. Yousri Belgaroui via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) (Rd. 3, 1:52)
Welterweight: Alim Nabiyev def. Nieky Holzken via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28, 30-27, 29-28)
Heavyweight: D’Angelo Marshall def. Ismael Londt by unanimous decision (29-27, 28-27, 28-27, 28-27, 28-27)
Heavyweight: Anderson Silva def. Brian Douwes via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Welterweight: Eyevan Danenberg def. Jamie Bates via unanimous decision (30-24, 30-24, 30-24, 30-24, 30-24)

GLORY 49 Rotterdam (11:00 a.m. ET, ESPN3)
Lightweight Tournament Final: Stoyan Koprivlenski def.Tyjani Beztati via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27, 30-26, 30-26)
Lightweight Bout: Christian Baya def. Samo Petje via TKO (Rd. 1, 1:26)
Welterweight Bout: Omar Moreno def. Anying Wang via unanimous decision
Lightweight Tournament Semifinal: Stoyan Koprivlenski def. Maykol Yurk via KO (Rd. 1, 2:47)
Lightweight Tournament Semifinal: Tyjani Beztati def. Niclas Larsen via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.