GLORY 50 Results

GLORY Kickboxing began its march to the century mark on Friday night, as they brought GLORY 50 and the SuperFight Series, to the UIC Pavilion in Chicago, Illinois.

Prior to the evening’s opening SuperFight Series match, GLORY announced that the heavyweight co-headlining bout between Haze Wilson and Anthony McDonald would be cancelled due to McDonald being unable to compete. And while one fight would be cancelled, Omar Moreno and Casey Wilson would go to an extra round, and Moreno would find victory via unanimous decision.

In the headliner of the SuperFightSeries card, Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong would have to go to the distance, as he would take a unanimous victory over Christian Baya.

On the main card for GLORY 50,

In the main event, Murthel Groenhart may have been dealt a poor hand, as he would suffer a stoppage and title loss to Harut Grigorian. The new welterweight champion laid in leg kicks to Groenhart to the point of near stumbling, which would cause the referee to stop the match and give Groenhart the title.

Benjamin Adegbuyi would lay the leather in the first round and pull the only knockout in the one night heavyweight tournament semi-finals, as he would defeat D’Angelo Marshall.

And Adegbuyi originally was set to face Guto Inocente in the finals, but due to a cut above his eye that required hospitalization, his semi-final opponent, Junior Tafa would take Inocente’s place. And while Tafa would get a second chance at redemption, Adegbuyi would chop down Tafa’s leg and take the tournament.

For full results read below.


GLORY 50 Chicago
Welterweight Title Headline Bout: Harut Grigorian def. Murthel Groenhart by TKO ref stoppage
Heavyweight Tournament Final: Benjamin Adegbuyi def. Junior Tafa by TKO
Welterweight Co-Headline Bout: Richard Abraham def. Malik Watson-Smith by Unanimous Decision
Heavyweight Tournament Semifinal Bout A: Guto Inocente def. Junior Tafa by Unanimous Decision
Heavyweight Tournament Semifinal Bout B: Benjamin Adegbuyi def. D’Angelo Marshall by KO Rd 1 (Right hand)

GLORY 50 SuperFight Series
Lightweight Title Headline Bout: Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong (c) def. Christian Baya by Unanimous Decision
Heavyweight Co-Headline Bout: Haze Wilson vs. Anthony McDonald: Cancelled
Welterweight Bout: Omar Moreno def. Casey Greene by Unanimous Decision (Extra Round)
Welterweight Bout: Omari Boyd def. Daniel Morales by Split decision
Catchweight (150 lb) Bout: Diego Llamas def. Justin Houghton by TKO Rd 1



You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More