GLORY 59 Live Results

The face of GLORY Kickboxing returns to defend the GLORY Heavyweight Title in the main event of GLORY 59, which takes place on Sept. 29 from the Johan Cruijff Arena in Amsterdam.

In the main event, heavyweight champion Rico Verhoeven will seek to successfully defend the title for an eighth time, as he takes on Guto Inocente.

One of the best, if not the best, pound-for-pound kickboxers, and one of the most recognizable faces in the sport, Verhoeven has not lost a bout in GLORY since GLORY 4 on New Year’s Eve 2012. He has also gone 16-1 since the GLORY 4 loss — with his only loss in that stretch coming outside of the GLORY promotion. Verhoeven has made successful defenses of the GLORY Heavyweight Title against the likes of Errol Zimmerman, Benjamin Adegbuyi, Mladen Brestovac, Anderson Silva and Jamal Ben Saddik.

Inocente, the challenger, has gone 6-1 in GLORY since debuting for the promotion at GLORY 27 in February 2016. Inocente last competed at GLORY 50, defeating Junior Tafa in the semifinals of a heavyweight contender tournament. A cut, however, forced Inocente out of the final.

The GLORY Featherweight Title will be unified in the co-main event of the evening, as featherweight champion Robin van Roosmalen takes on interim featherweight champion Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao. The two previously met in May 2017 at GLORY 41, where van Roosmalen regained the title with a majority decision win (Roosmalen was originally stripped of the title earlier in the year due to not making weight). However, Roosmalen missed weight yet again, meaning only Kiatmookao can win the title.

Since then, Roosmalen has made successful defenses against Serhiy Adamchuk and Kevin VanNostrand. Roosmalen was scheduled to face VanNostrand in a rematch back in July at GLORY 55, but a shoulder injury forced him out of the title bout. VanNostrand instead faced Kiatmookao — who, after the loss to Roosmalen and another loss outside of GLORY, went on a three-fight win streak. Kiatmookao won the close split decision bout and interim featherweight title, earning him this rematch with Roosmalen.

GLORY 59 Amsterdam Main Card Results:
GLORY Heavyweight Championship (c.) Rico Verhoeven def. Guto Inocente via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45)
GLORY Featherweight Championship Title Unification Bout: (ic) Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao def. (c.) Robin van Roosmalen via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45)
Heavyweight: Jamal Ben Saddik def. D’Angelo Marshall via TKO (three-knockdown rule) (Rd. 1, 0:57)
Lightweight: Tyjani Beztati def. Christian Baya via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

GLORY 59 SuperFight Series Results:
Welterweight: Murthel Groenhart def. Mohammed Jaraya via TKO (Rd. 2, 1:05)
Welterweight: Alim Nabiyev def. Eyevan Danenberg via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Light Heavyweight: Michael Duut def. Mourad Bouzidi via KO (Rd. 3, 2:56)
Heavyweight: Roel Mannaart def. Daniel Skvor via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
Featherweight: Aleksei Ulianov def. Zakaria Zouggary via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27, 30-26, 30-26)

GLORY 59 Prelims Results:
Lightweight: Stoyan Koprivlenski def. Anil Cabri via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Middleweight: Donovan Wisse def. Kevin van Heeckeren via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
Welterweight: Miles Simson def. Kevin Hessling via TKO (Rd. 1, 0:54)
Catchweight (72.5 kg): Robbie Hageman def. Brahim Kallah via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-25, 30-25, 30-25)

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More