Hermansson Victorious At UFC Fort Lauderdale

Jack Hermansson has scored the biggest win of his UFC career.

In the main event of UFC’s trip to Fort Lauderdale, Hermansson defeated Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza by unanimous decision after a tough five rounds that saw plenty of strikes being thrown around.

Souza initially appeared to have the upper hand thanks to his striking but quickly found himself in early trouble when Hermansson had him in a submission hold and tried to go for the finish. Souza managed to escape the hold and continued to utilize the striking to win the fight. 

A good portion of the second round was spent on the ground as Hermansson was on top and trying to use some ground-and-pound offense to win the fight. 

The third round had Souza unleashing a number of strikes to Hermansson and even hurt his opponent in the body thanks to those strikes. Hermansson returned the favor in the fourth round by attacking Souza with never-ending strikes of his own, although Souza managed to land some shots of his own.

In the co-main event, former NFL star Greg Hardy picked up his first UFC win in quick fashion by scoring a TKO victory over Dmitrii Smoliakov in less than three minutes into their fight. 

Also on the card, Mike Perry got a big win over Alex Oliveira thanks to his striking, winning the fight by unanimous decision. Perry and Oliveira had a big striking battle that saw Perry dominate thanks to moments in the fight where he threw a barrage of strikes to Oliveira. Perry picked up his first win since July 2018 and sixth win in the octagon.

UFC veteran and former light heavyweight title challenger Glover Teixeira is now on his first win streak inside the octagon in years, locking in a rear naked choke on Ion Cutelaba in the second round. Teixeira is now 2-0 in fights in 2019 and continues to be a player in the light heavyweight division.

Main Card

Jack Hermansson defeated Ronaldo Souza by unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47, 48-47)

Greg Hardy defeated Dmitrii Smoliakov by TKO, round 1, 2:15

Mike Perry defeated Alex Oliveira by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Glover Teixeira defeated Ion Cutelaba by submission via rear naked choke, round 2, 3:37

Cory Sandhagen defeated John Lineker by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Roosevelt Roberts defeated Thomas Gifford by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Prelim Card

Takashi Sato defeated Ben Saunders by TKO, round 2, 1:18

Carla Esparza defeated Virna Jandiroba by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Augusto Sakai defeated Andrei Arlovski by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Gilbert Burns defeated Mike Davis by submission via rear naked choke, round 2, 4:15

Early Prelim Card

Jim Miller defeated Jason Gonzalez by submission via rear naked choke, round 1, 2:12

Angela Hill defeated Jodie Esquibel by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Dhiego Lima defeated Court McGee by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.