Holzken Earns Hat Trick over Groenhart

In their third collision, Nieky Holzken retained the GLORY welterweight championship by defeating Murthel Groenhart by unanimous decision.

The first fight between Holzken and Groenhart took place in 2010 back in their home country of the Netherlands, with Holzken winning by decision. They also met in the country at GLORY 26, where Holzken retained the welterweight title with a controversial split decision.

Early on, both fighters started slow, with not as many shots being fired. Holzken managed to land a hard head kick, while Groenhart landed a knee. Holzken took control in the second, winning that round. Groenhart started the third strong with a combination or two before throwing himself out of the ring. Holzken also started to get more conservative in the third, applying more boxing technique. Groenhart came back in the fourth, landing several nasty shots onto Holzken, though the defending champ had a nice spinning elbow that landed. Groenhart managed to push through even more in the final round, forcing the champion to cover up, but Holzken managed to survive the round. Despite the closeness of the fight, the judges all ruled Holzken the winner with 48-47 scores.

Following the bout, the two buried the hatchet, and it appears the trilogy will just be that.

GLORY 34 also saw Israel Adesanya win a one-night tournament to earn a future middleweight title shot. Both he and the other finalist, Yousmi Belgaroui, had to endure a full bout earlier in the card, both winning by unanimous decision. Belgaroui defeated Ariel Machado in the opening bout of the main card, while Adesanya defeated Robert Thomas in the next bout. Adesanya then managed to take the final over Belgaroui by split decision, 30-27, 28-29, 29-28.

Simon Marcus and Dustin Jacoby also collided in a re-match from GLORY 30, where Marcus defeated Jacoby to retain the GLORY middleweight title. During the first round, however, Jacoby checked a kick from Marcus, which landed on his forearm, injuring it. The ringside doctor checked the arm at the start of the second round, and he waved the fight off in favor of Marcus.

On the preliminary Superfight Series card, Robin van Roosmalen defeated Gabriel Varga to win the GLORY featherweight championship. Roosmalen dominated the bout, prompting Varga’s corner to stop the bout in the fourth round. Roosmalen has now won a title in two different GLORY weight classes, as he is a former lightweight champion.

GLORY 34 Main Card Results
Welterweight Title: (c.) Nieky Holzken def. Murthel Groenhart via unanimous decision (48-47, 48-47, 48-47)
Middleweight Tournament Final: Israel Adesanya def. Yousmi Belgaroui via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)
Simon Marcus def. Dustin Jacoby via doctor’s stoppage (R2, 0:01)
Middleweight Tournament Semifinal: Israel Adesanya def. Robert Thomas via unanimous decision (30-25, 29-26, 30-25).
Middleweight Tournament Semifinal: Yousmi Belgaroui def. Ariel Machado via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

GLORY 34 Superfight Series Results
Featherweight Title: Robin van Roosmalen def. (c.) Gabriel Varga via TKO [corner stoppage] (R4, 3:00)
Saulo Cavalari def Brian Douwes via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
Tongchai Sitsongpeenong def. Casey Greene by KO (R2, 2:58)
Richard Abraham def. Mike Mathetha via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Justin Houghton def Jonathon Wyderko via split decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Original story: http://www.mmamania.com/2016/10/21/13363400/glory-34-live-stream-results-for-holzken-vs-groenhart-on-espn3-colorado

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.