International Boxing Hall of Fame 2019 Class Announced

The Class of 2019 for the International Boxing Hall of Fame will feature several world champions in the induction ceremony next summer.

The IBHOF announced that two-division world champions Julian Jackson, “Buddy” McGirt and Donald Curry will headline the event taking place in Canastota, New York. Others that were nominated include former champion Tony DeMarco, promoter Don Elbaum and boxing trainer and broadcaster Teddy Atlas. The following inductees are divided by the category in which they have been voted upon.

Modern Category:

  • Donald Curry
  • Julian Jackson
  • “Buddy” McGirt

Old Timer Category:

  • Tony DeMarco

Non-Participants and Observers:

  • Teddy Atlas
  • Lee Samuels
  • Don Elbaum
  • Guy Jutras

The Hall of Fame also released the name of one posthumous honoree: journalist Mario Rivera Martino in the Observer Category. Inductees were voted in by members of the Boxing Writers Association and a panel of international boxing historians. The induction ceremony weekend will run from June 6-9, 2019.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More