Johnson-Aoki Win At ONE: A New Era

ONE Championship took to Tokyo for the first time on March 31st, from Sumo Hall in their Japan debut.

Two of ONE’s big signings, Eddie Alvarez and Demetrious Johnson made their debut for the Singapore promotion.


Johnson’s night would be a quick one as he would submit Yuya Wakamatsu in the second round of his ONE Championship debut.


While Alvarez would see a different ending as Timofey Nastyukhin dropped the former UFC and Bellator champion in the beginning of the Lightweight Grand Prix tournament.


In the main event, former UFC competitor Shinya Aoki became ONE lightweight champion with a first-round arm triangle of Eduard Folyang.


Get One Championship: A New Era results below.

Main card

Shinya Aoki def. Eduard Folayang via submission (arm triangle choke) at 2:37 of R1

Xiong Jing Nan def. Angela Lee via TKO (strikes) at 1:37 of R5

Aung La Nsang def. Ken Hasegawa via TKO (strikes) at 4:41 of R2

Bibiano Fernandes def. Kevin Belingon via disqualification (illegal elbows) in R3

Demetrious Johnson def. Yuya Wakamatsu via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:40 of R2

Timofey Nastyukhin def. Eddie Alvarez via TKO (punches) at 4:05 of R1

Yodsanklai Iwe Fairtex def. Andy Souwer via TKO (punches) at :51 of R2


Danny Kingad def. Senzo Ikeda via unanimous decision

Kairat Akhmetov def. Reece McLaren
 via unanimous decision

Rodtang Jitmuangnon def. Hakim Hamech via split decision (muay thai)

Joseph Lasiri def. Hiroki Akimoto via majority decision

Mei Yamaguchi def. Kseniya Lachkova via submission (armbar) at 3:18 of R3

Garry Tonon def. Anthony Engelen via TKO (strikes) at 4:12 of R1

Panicos Yusuf def. Mohammed Bin Mahmoud
 via unanimous decision (muay Thai)

Yoon Chang Min def. Bala Shetty via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:16 of R1

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More