Jon Jones Posts Bail, Nevada Judge Finds Probable Cause For His Arrest
Jon Jones is now due in court on October 26.
Further details have yet to surface on Jones’ domestic battery and vehicle tampering charges, but a Nevada judge ruled there was probable cause for the arrest, allowing the case to move forward, according to online records.
The 34-year-old was released from Clark County Detention Center Friday night after posting bail, which was set at $8,000. He was arrested earlier that morning at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas.
The UFC star was scheduled for his first appearance on Saturday afternoon at Las Vegas Justice Court, but was rescheduled to October 26 at 8:30 a.m., per online records.
“The facts are still developing, we really don’t know yet the full story so I’m not going to make any comment until I have a chance to talk to Jon and until we see how this plays out,” Jones’ advisor, Richard Schaefer previously told ESPN.
UFC President Dana White said on Friday that executives will wait for the outcome.
“Is it really shocking anymore? It’s really not. It’s become not shocking,” White said. “It’s almost like, ‘Uh oh, this guy is in Vegas, what’s gonna happen today?’ You want to hope that the guy is better and that won’t be the case, but he proves that every time he comes to this town that he can’t handle this place.”
Jones has had a number of arrests.
In his most recent, he pleaded no contest in September 2019 to a battery charge of “allegedly slapping a waitress at a strip club, choking her, kissing her and touching her after she asked him to stop.” In March 2020, in Albuquerque, his home city, he was charged with driving under the influence, negligent use of a firearm, possession of an open container, and no proof of insurance.
Other arrests date back to 2012 and 2015.
Friday’s arrest came after the fighter attended the UFC Hall of Fame ceremony where his 2013 fighter against Alexander Gustafsson was inducted.
Jones could face up to six months in jail and community service on the domestic violence battery charge and between one and five years in jail with a fine on the injuring or tampering with a vehicle charge, according to Nevada statues.