Lino Wins Inaugural Flyweight Title Bout

Amanda Lino has had EFC history, becoming the promotion’s first-ever women’s flyweight champion after defeating Jacqueline Trosse in the main event of EFC 60.

"This is, by far, the best fight of my life," Lino said following the bout. "No one is getting this belt from me. Once I have it, I’m keeping it."

The two started out slowly, feeling each other out, but Trosse suddenly came at Lino firing shots. While Trosse had Lino trapped against the cage, Lino suddenly delivered a trip and took Trosse down. Trosse, however, survived shots from full guard and an attempt to lock in a rear-naked choke. Trosse and Lino then went to the war for the last bit of the first.

Lino found a way to get Trosse down to the ground again in the second and threw several elbows onto her opponent. With seconds remaining in the round, Lino grabbed a free Trosse arm and locked in an armbar. While Trosse gave it her best effort to get out of the hold, it was just too deep, and she was forced to submit with seven seconds remaining in the round.

While she didn’t win the title, Trosse was not too disappointed by the result, celebrating with and congratulating Lino after the bout.

"I am very proud of myself. It was the best fight I ever had," Trosse said. "My game plan was to go and give it my all. In the future, I’m going to go harder."

EFC 60 Results:
Inaugural EFC women’s flyweight title bout: Amanda Lino def. Jacqueline Trosse via submission (armbar) (Rd. 2, 4:53)
Martin van Staden def. Leon Mynhardt via TKO (Rd. 1)
Bokang Masunyane def. Abdul Hassan via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-28, 30-26)
Cameron Meintjes def. Gordon Roodman via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-26)
Marino Cutendana def. Martin de Beer via submission (armbar) (Rd. 1)

EFC 60 Prelim Card Results:
Gary Joshua def. Baldwin Mdlalose via split decision
Sindile Manengela def. Sizwe Mnikathi via majority decision
Yusuf Hassan def. Jesse Fleming via TKO (Rd. 1)
Thabani Mndebela def. Nico Yamdjie via split decision
Dansheel Moodley def. Roevan De Beer via unanimous decision
Warren Richards def. Stephan De La Rey via submission (rear-naked choke) (Rd. 1)

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.