NY Boxing Hall of Fame Class Announced

The latest class of the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame has been revealed. 28 members will be inducted as the class of 2019 on Sunday, April 19 at Russo’s On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York. The ceremony is expected to take place in the afternoon around 12:30 p.m. ET.

“I am proud that we are continuing to honor New York men and woman in boxing for their dedication to the sport that they’ve served,” NYSBHOF President Bob Duffy stated in a press release. “This is our way to thank them all and let each new inductee know that we do remember all that they did and continue to do. The Class of 2020 is strong across the board, boxers and non-participants, continuing the NYSBHOF tradition of honoring our own.”

The following living boxers headline the latest class:

  • World Light Heavyweight title contender Jorge Ahumada (42-8-2, 22 KOs) – Woodside, Queens
  • WBC Super featherweight World Champion Alfredo “El Salsero” Escalera (53-14-3, 31 KOs) – New York City
  • WBC Super Featherweight World Title contender Freddie Liberatore (20-4-1, 11 KOs) – Bayside, Queens
  • Four-time New York Golden Gloves winner Dennis Milton (16-5-1, 5 KOs) – The Bronx
  • Two-time New York Golden Gloves winner Lou Savarese (46-7, 38 KOs) – Greenwood Lake
  • WBA Super Middleweight T contender Merqui Sosa (34-9-2, 27 KOs) – Brooklyn

Posthumous inductees include:

  • Contender Soldier Bartfield (51-29-8, 33 KOs) – Brooklyn
  • Middleweight Steve Belloise (95-13-3, 59 KOs) – The Bronx
  • NYSAC and World Lightweight Champion Jimmy Goodrich (85-34-21 (12 KOs) – Buffalo
  • World Heavyweight Title contender Tami Mauriello (82-13-1, 60 KOs) – The Bronx
  • WBA Light Middleweight World Champion Davey Moore (18-5, 14 KOs) – The Bronx
  • World Lightweight Champion Freddie Welch (74-5-7, 34 KOs) – New York City

Living non-participants, who helped shape the sport of boxing, include:

  • Judge Don Ackerman – Oneida
  • Journalist/Producer Bobby Cassidy, Jr – Wantagh, Long Island
  • Manager Rick Glaser – Buffalo
  • Journalist Jack Hirsch – Rockaway Beach
  • Broadcaster Max Kellerman – The Bronx
  • Ringside physician/NY Medical Director Dr. William Lathan – Ardsley
  • Judge Julie Lederman – Orangeburg
  • Referee Don Lipton – Hyde Park
  • Trainer Kevin Rooney – Staten Island

Posthumous, non-participants include:

  • Ring Magazine Editor Leser Bromberg – Brooklyn
  • Sportswriter Dan Daniel – New York City
  • Gleason’s Gym Founder Bobby Gleason – Brooklyn
  • Writer Flash Gordan – Queens
  • Journalist A.J. Liebling – Manhattan
  • NYSBHOF co-founder Tony Mazzarella  – Long Island City
  • Manager Dan Morgan – New York City

The inductees were selected by the NYSBHOF nominating committee members: Randy GordonHenry HascupDon MajeskiRon McNairJim Monteverde and Neil Terens. Each inductee will be receiving a custom-designed belt signifying their NYSBHOF induction.

Tickets for the event are priced at $150.00 per adult and $60.00 for children under 16. That includes brunch and cocktail hour upon entry. Tickets are available to purchase by contacting NYSBHOF president Bob Duffy at 516.313.2304 or depcomish@aol.com.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More