PFL 7 Results: Playoff Brackets Finalized

A former World Series Of Fighting Champion has secured the final playoff spot for the inaugural PFL season, as Smealinho Rama was able to get enough points in a victory over Jamie Abdallah.

The rules for the PFL were in play for Rama, as he or Abdallah needed a finish in either the first or second round to get into the light heavyweight bracket, and was able to force a doctor’s stoppage of Abdallah in the second round of their main event fight at the Ocean Resort Casino at Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Both fighters would give it their all on Thursday night, but Abdallah’s eye would become damaged to the point that the cageside doctor would stop the fight between rounds two and three, while Abdallah pleaded to let him fight.

“I wanted the fight to go on, he was a good opponent,“ Rama said after locking in his playoff spot. “But listen, that’s done. This is it. Let’s do it, man. It’s time to work.”

Rama would overtake Brandon Halsey, who defeated Rama at PFL 2 in Chicago earlier this year in a similar fashion with a doctor’s stoppage between the second and third round. While the PFL has a points system predicated on type of victory and the round in which you do it, the athletic commissions of Illinois and New Jersey have different rules regarding stoppages between rounds, where the New Jersey rules gave Rama a second round win, Halsey’s victory would officially be a TKO at 1 second into round three.

Rama is next slated to take on No. 2 light heavyweight seed Maxim Grishin when the PFL playoffs kick off in October.

Check out PFL 7 results below.

Main card

Smealinho Rama def. Jamie Abdallah via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) at 5:00 of round two

Bazigit Atajev def. Sean O’Connell via TKO (strikes) at 3:30 of round one

Alexandre Bezerra def. Magomed Idrisov via KO (flying knee) at 3:24 of round one

Handesson Ferreira def. Paul Bradley via TKO (punches) at :20 of round one

Caio Alencar def. Mike Kyle via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)


Sadibou Sy def. Caio Magalhaes via KO (strikes) at 2:06 of round one

Emiliano Sordi def. Jason Butcher via KO (punch) at :16 of round one

Omar Nurmagomedov def. Saidyokub Kakharamonov via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Ramazan Kuramagomedov def. Robert Hale via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Muhammed De’Reese def. Leroy Johnson via KO (knee) at 2:25 of round one

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.