PFL Announces Roster, Format, And 2018 Schedule

The Professional Fighters League ‘s inaugural season kicks off on June 7th at The Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden, in the first of 11 events leading up to a finale on December 31st where six fighters walk away with $1,000,000 in prize money.

Per MMA Fighting’s Ariel Helwani, the June 7 premiere will be an 11-fight card comprised of featherweights and heavyweights:


Andre Harrison vs. Jumabieke Tuerxun
Lance Palmer vs. Bekbulat Magomedov
Alexandre Almeida vs. Lee Coville
Magomed Idrisov vs. Steven Siler
Marcos Galvao vs. Nazareno Malegarie
Timur Valiev vs. Max Coga


Mike Kyle vs. Shawn Jordan
Denis Goltsov vs. Nick Rossborough
Jared Rosholt vs. Valdrin Istrefi
Caio Alencar vs. Jake Heun
Josh Copeland vs. Jack May
Francimar Barroso vs. Daniel Gallemore

Per a release from the PFL sent out on Monday, the other scheduled events include.

June 21 — Chicago, Ill. — Chicago Theater

July 5 — Washington, DC. — GWU Smith Center

July 19 — Long Island, N.Y. — Nassau Coliseum

August 2 — Long Island, N.Y. — Nassau Coliseum

August 16 — Atlantic City, N.J. — Ocean Resort Casino

August 30 — Atlantic City, N.J. — Ocean Resort Casino

October 5: Playoff Event — Venue and city to be determined

October 13: Playoff Event — Venue and city to be determined

October 20: Playoff Event — Venue and city to be determined

December 31: Championship Event — Venue and city to be determined

Fighters will be drawn from the featherweight, lightweight, welterweight, middleweight, light heavyweight, and heavyweight divisions,  including former UFC, Bellator, WSOF, and Strikeforce fighters such as Will Brooks, Jake Shields, Brandon Halsey, PFL featherweight champion Andre Harrison, and younger brother of UFC lightweight Champion Khabib Nurmagomedov, Abubakar.

Per MMA Junkie, the standings are set via a points system:

  • Wins: 3 points
  • Draw: 1 point
  • First Round Finish: 3 points
  • Second Round Finish: 2 points
  • Third Round Finish: 1 point

Each fighter will twice with the top eight in each division advancing to a single-elimination playoff tournament, per MMAjunkie.

In total, $10,000,000 is being allocated for prize money, with playoff runner-ups receiving $200,000, semifinal finishers $100,000, and quarter-final finishers $50,000.

The PFL signed a duel agreement with with NBC and Facebook, Facebook will air  a pre-fight show, preliminaries, and a post-fight show airing, and the main cards airing on NBCSN. The regular season will air on Thursdays.

See the full rosters below:


Alexandre Almeida
Max Coga
Lee Coville
Marcos Galvao
Andre Harrison
Magomed Idrisov
Bekbulat Magomedov
Nazareno Malegarie
Lance Palmer
Steven Siler
Jumabieke Tuerxun
Timur Valiev


Will Brooks
Luiz Firmino
Brian Foster
Jason High
Yuki Kawana
Islam Mamedov
Rashid Magomedov
Ramsey Nijem
Natan Schulte
Thiago Tavares
Chris Wade
Robert Watley


Paul Bradley
Ray Cooper III
Pavel Kusch
Abubakar Nurmagomedov
Jake Shields
Rick Story
Herman Terrado
Bojan Velickovic
Yuri Villefort
Jonatan Westin
David Zawada
Joao Zeferino


Shamil Gamzatov
Anderson Goncalves
Eddie Gordon
Rex Harris
John Howard
Andre Lobato
Abus Magomedov
Bruno Santos
Sadibou Sy
Louis Taylor
Gasan Umalatov
Danillo Villefort

Light Heavyweight

Jamie Abdallah
Bazigit Ataev
Jason Butcher
Rakim Cleveland
Maxim Grishin
Brandon Halsey
Vinny Magalhaes
Ronny Markes
Sean O’Connell
Smealinho Rama
Dan Spohn
Rashid Yusupov


Caio Alencar
Francimar Barroso
Josh Copeland
Daniel Gallemore
Denis Goltsov
Jake Heun
Valdrin Istrefi
Shawn Jordan
Mike Kyle
Jack May
Jared Rosholt
Nick Rossborough

Original Report: MMA Junkie

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.