Pulev Drops Dinu In The 7th

Kubrat Pulev’s first fight in the United States would prove to be successful, as he would drop Bogdan Dinu in a rematch of their battle as amateurs.

Pulev would earn a 7th round knockout over Dinu in the main event of an ESPN card from Costa Mesa, California. While it would take a while for both fighters to gain momentum, Pulev would send Dinu into the ropes in the second round

Dinu would turn the tide in round four, by opening up a cut over Pulev’s left eye, which nearly forced the doctor to stop the fight prior to the fifth round.

In round seven, Dinu would get dropped by a series of right hands by the former world title contender, but would accidentally caught Dinu in the base of the skull. Referee Raul Caiz would score it as a knockdown, but taking a point from Pulev for an accidental foul.

It would not be long, as Dinu would hit the canvas two more times in the seventh round, handing Dinu his second straight loss in four months.

“No excuse,” Dinu said following the fight. “I fought this guy because I want to be in the (top 10). My last two losses are now against two Top 10 guys.”

Pulev continues to build his resume, looking for for his first world title shot since his November 2014 knockout loss to Wladimir Klitschko, and being pulled from a 2017 fight with Anthony Joshua due to injury.

“I was prepared, I was fit and I was (ready) for this moment,” Pulev insisted. “I think it was very good at boxing today. I showed good punching, good strategy. We were very well prepared for this fight.”

 

Quotes via Boxing Scene

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X