Rigondeaux Disappointed In WBA Decision

Guillermo Rigondeaux is “very, very disappointed” that he could lose his title on December 9th, even though he is moving up two weight classes to challenge WBO 130-pound champion Vasyl Lomachenko.

The WBA granted Rigondeaux an exception to fight Lomachenko. As previously reported on FIGHT SPORTS, the WBA previously ordered him to partake in an immediate rematch against Panama’s Moises Flores. The rematch was ordered due to the Nevada State Athletic Commission changed the result of their June 17th fight in Las Vegas from a first-round knockout win by Rigondeaux to a no-contest, because Rigondeaux’s fight-ending punch landed after the bell to signal the end of the round.

The WBA has since ruled that if Rigondeaux defeats Lomachenko, he’ll have five days after their fight to decide whether he’ll return to 122 pounds to defend his title. If Lomachenko beats him, WBA president Gilberto Jesus Mendoza has announced that Rigondeaux would lose his title, even though it isn’t a 122-pound bout.

Rigondeaux took to Twitter on Tuesday to express his displeasure with that odd decision.

He Tweeted:

The two-time Olympic gold medalist also Tweeted:

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.