Sulaiman: Canelo Won’t Lose Title For Fielding Fight

Canelo Alvarez shocked pretty much everyone in boxing last week by announcing that his next opponent is WBA Super middleweight champion, Rocky Fielding, and that he’d be fighting as the challenger in the December 15th showdown at Madison Square Garden.

WBC President Mauricio Sulaiman spoke with ESPN Deportes, and claimed that Alvarez is not in any danger of losing his title by taking the Fielding fight over a WBC mandatory or an opponent in his weight class.

“The rules state that a champion is allowed to challenge for other titles in other weight classes and so Canelo will represent the WBC and when he’s done, he’ll choose whether to go back [to middleweight] or stay [at super middleweight],” Sulaiman said.

This same rule helped open the door for Mikey Garcia to fight for the IBF junior welterweight title against Sergey Lipinets earlier this year, before returning to lightweight for his unification fight with Robert Easter Jr.

Report via Fightful

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.