UFC 244: BMF Fight Ends in Controversial Stoppage

UFC 244 ended up being a night full of finishes, but it was the last one — in the fight most anticipated — that actually caused way more grief than cheers.

Jorge Masvidal won the BMF Title fight in the main event of UFC 244, defeating Nate Diaz by a controversial doctor’s stoppage after three rounds.

Both men came out firing their best right from the get-go, but it was Masvidal who was landing the crisper shots. A big elbow and a right hand dropped Diaz during the opening frame, and Masvidal seemed in control on the ground, raining down blows and getting through Diaz’s guard with elbows and fists, looking like he could finish. Diaz, while busted open, however, got up and rocked Masvidal with a one-two. Masvidal continued his dominance in the second round that dropping Diaz with a body kick and combination.

The third round was more even, with both men taking big blows well. But it was at the end of this round where the doctor inspected Diaz’s cut and called the fight off, causing a chorus of ferocious booing from the crowd at Madison Square Garden.

Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson looked disappointed as he strapped the belt around Masvidal’s waist, while the commentary team reported UFC President Dana White leaped out of his seat upon the stoppage.

Masvidal promised the crowd they will run it back, to which Diaz agreed and warned Masvidal he was coming for him again.

UFC 244 Main Card (ESPN+ PPV, 10 p.m. ET):

For the BMF Title: Jorge Masvidal def. Nate Diaz via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) (Rd. 3, 5:00)

Darren Till def. Kelvin Gastelum via split decison (27-30, 29-28, 30-27)

Stephen Thompson def. Vicente Luque via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 29-27)

Derrick Lewis def. Blagoy Ivanov via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Kevin Lee def. Gregor Gillespie via KO (Rd. 1, 2:47)

UFC 244 Preliminary Card (ESPN2, 8 p.m. ET):

Corey Anderson def. Johnny Walker via TKO (Rd. 1, 2:07)

Shane Burgos def. Makwan Amirkhani via TKO (Rd. 3, 4:32)

Edmen Shahbazyan def. Brad Tavares via KO (Rd. 1, 2:27)

Jairzinho Rozenstruik def. Andrei Arlovski via KO (Rd. 1, 0:29)

UFC 244 Early Prelims Card (ESPN+/UFC Fight Pass, 6:30 p.m. ET):

Katlyn Chookagin def. Jennifer Maia via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Lyman Good def. Chance Rencountre via TKO (Rd. 3, 2:03)

Hakeem Dawodu def. Julio Arce via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More