UFC 284 Pre-Fight Press Conference: Volkanovski Embraces Underdog Status

Makhachev Intends To Become P4P King

This morning in Perth, ahead of the UFC 284 action that will unfold this weekend, Islam Makhachev and Alexander Volkanovski touched on what we can expect from their highly anticipated lightweight championship match.

Volkanovski, current titleholder in the featherweight division, now has his sights set on lightweight gold and hopes to solidify himself as one of the pound-for-pound all-time greats. He knows that in the eyes of many he is not the favorite versus Makhachev, but this is a challenge that the Australian welcomes, and he feels confident that he can rise to the occasion.

Lightweight champion Makhachev, who also is focused on the potential status of pound-for-pound king, is looking to use this opportunity to showcase his striking. He plans to knock Volkanovski out, despite acknowledging that his opponent is very skilled on the feet.

 

Check out what the two main event competitors had to say at the pre-fight press conference below:

 

UFC 284 gets started this Saturday at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT with the preliminary action on UFC Fight Pass & ESPN+.

Following, at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT the PPV main card will go live, and will feature five high level bouts.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More