UFC 297 Weigh-In Results: Championship Competitors Make Weight, Two Preliminary Fighters Miss The Mark

Earlier today in Toronto, the competitors of UFC 297 stepped to the scale to weigh-in ahead of this Saturday’s action.

Following the fighters’ initial step to the scale, the ceremonial weigh-in show will begin at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT at the Scotiabank Arena.

Both main event fighters came in under the allotted championship middleweight limit on their first attempt. Champion Sean Strickland (28-5) came in at 184.75-pounds, while challenger Dricus Du Plessis (20-2) came in at the 184-pound mark.

In the co-main event, former women’s bantamweight title challenger Raquel Pennington (15-8) will square off with Mayra Bueno Silva (10-2-1) for the vacant bantamweight title. The pair both weighed in successfully, with Pennington coming in at 134.8-pounds, while Bueno Silva hit 135-pounds on the dot.

Two fighters on the preliminary card unfortunately have come in over the allotted weight limit and will need to submit a percentage of their purse.

Making his UFC debut, Ramon Taveras (9-2) is off to a rough start as he weighed in 139.75-pounds while trying to make the bantamweight limit. Taveras is now subject to a fine equal to 30% of his purse.

The second fighter who came in heavy was Malcolm Gordon (14-7), who weighed 127.5-pounds while attempting to make weight for his flyweight bout versus Jimmy Flick (16-7). Gordon was fined 20% of his purse.

 

UFC 297 Full Weigh-In Results:

 

Main Card (10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT on PPV)

  • Sean Strickland (184.75) vs. Dricus Du Plessis (184) – Middleweight Title
  • Raquel Pennington (134.8) vs. Mayra Bueno Silva (135) – Bantamweight TItle
  • Neil Magny (170.75) vs. Mike Malott (170.5)
  • Marc-Andre Barriault (184.5) vs. Chris Curtis (185.25)
  • Arnold Allen (145.5) vs. Movsar Evloev (145.75)

Preliminary Card (8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT on ESPN)

  • Garrett Armfield (135.25) vs. Brad Katona (136)
  • Charles Jourdain (145.5) vs. Sean Woodson (145.5)
  • Serhiy Sidey (135) vs. Ramon Taveras (139.75)*
  • Gillian Robertson (115.75) vs. Polyana Viana (115.75)

Early Preliminary Bouts (6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT on ESPN+)

  • Yohan Lainesse (170.75) vs. Sam Patterson (169.5)
  • Priscila Cachoeira (133.5) vs. Jasmine Jasudavicius (133) – moved to bantamweight after initial flyweight contract weight
  • Jimmy Flick (126) vs. Malcolm Gordon (127.5)**

 

*Taveras missed the bantamweight limit. He was fined 30 percent of his purse.
**Gordon missed the flyweight limit. He was fined 20 percent of his purse.

(h/t MMAJunkie.com)

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

buy ivermectin for humans ivermectin for sale