UFC Fight Island 2 Results: Deiveson Figueiredo Vs. Joseph Benavidez II

*For in-depth coverage of the main event, click the attached link

Following months of waiting, we will finally get to crown a new UFC Flyweight Champion. Can a multi-time contender get the job done this time around?

Taking place on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi on July 18, the UFC will be hosting another “Fight Island” event. The main event will be Deiveson Figueiredo v. Joseph Benavidez in a rematch for the vacant title.

Back in February, Benavidez (28-6) and Figueiredo (18-1) were chosen as the flyweight contenders. Henry Cejudo relinquished the title to focus on his UFC Bantamweight Title. Figueiredo entered the fight 2.5 pounds over the flyweight limit and would win the fight via TKO, but would not win the title.

Before his loss to Figueiredo, Benavidez was on a three-fight win streak. He is also 0-3 when it comes to title matches in the UFC. Figueiredo is on a three-fight win streak. He almost didn’t make it to the contest as a result of a positive COVID-19 test. Ready to go now after another test, he will look to prove his last win wasn’t a fluke, while Benavidez is hoping for a measure of revenge while also fulfilling his destiny.

FIGHT SPORTS will be providing coverage of UFC Fight Island 2!

*For in-depth coverage of the main event, click the attached link*

Main Card (ESPN, 8 p.m. ET)

Deiveson Figueiredo def Joseph Benavidez via rear-naked choke (4:48 into round one) – UFC Flyweight Title

Jack Hermansson def. Kelvin Gastelum via heel hook (1:18 into round one)

Rafael Fiziev def. Marc Diakiese via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Ariane Lipski def. Luana Carolina via kneebar (1:28 into round one)

Askar Askarov def. Alexandre Pantoja via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Prelims (ESPN/ESPN+, 5 p.m. ET)

Roman Dolidze def. Khadis Ibragimov via TKO (4:15 into round one)

Grant Dawson def. Nad Narimani via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 29-27)

Joel Alvarez def. Joe Duffy via guillotine (2:25 into round one)

Brett Johns def. Montel Jackson via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Amir Albaza def. Malcolm Gordon via triangle choke (4:42 into round one)

Serghei Spivac def. Carlos Feilpe via majority decision (28-28, 29-27, 29-27)

Arman Tsarukyan def. Davi Ramos via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More