UFC Mexico City Live Results

Two of the more popular UFC featherweights, both were great finishing ability, will collide in the main event of UFC Mexico City, which takes place on September 21 at the Mexico City Arena.

Yair Rodriguez and Jeremy Stephens will do battle in the headline attraction, with both men looking to advance up the UFC’s featherweight rankings.

This will be Rodriguez’s first fight since scoring the widely-regarded Knockout of the Year for 2018. Back at UFC Denver in November, with just one second remaining of a back-and-forth fight he appeared to be losing, Rodriguez knocked out “The Korean Zombie” Chan Sung Jung with an amazing elbow shot. At the very literal last second of the fight, it is the latest knockout in UFC history.

It marked quite the turnaround for Rodriguez, whose previous fight at UFC 211 saw his Octagon unbeaten record snapped by Frankie Edgar. The UFC then released him a year later, allegedly due to Rodriguez turning down fights, but the sides patched things up weeks later.

Stephens, meanwhile, will look to get back to winning ways after back-to-back losses over the past year to Jose Aldo (at UFC Calgary in July 2018) and Zabit Magomedsharipov (at UFC 235 in March).

Main card (ESPN+, 8 p.m. ET)

Yair Rodriguez vs. Jeremy Stephens goes to a No Contest (accidental foul; eye poke) (Rd. 1, 0:15)

Carla Esparza def. Alexa Grasso via majority decision (28-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Brandon Moreno vs. Askar Askarov goes to a split draw (28-28, 30-27, 28-29)

Irene Aldana def. Vanessa Melo via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Steven Peterson def. Martin Bravo via KO (Rd. 2, 1:31)

Preliminary Card (ESPN+, 5 p.m. ET)

Jose Quinonez def. Carlos Huachin via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Kyle Nelson def. Marco Polo Reyes via KO (Rd. 1, 1:36)

 Angela Hill def. Ariane Carnelossi via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) (Rd. 3, 1:56)

Sergio Pettis def. Tyson Nam via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Paul Craig def. Vinicius Moreira via submission (rear-naked choke) (Rd. 1, 3:19)

Bethe Correia def. Sijara Eubanks via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Claudio Puelles def. Marcos Mariano via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-25)

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More