Verhoeven Dominates, Retains GLORY Title

Rico Verhoeven (49-10-1, 13 KOs) has now made five successful defenses of the GLORY heavyweight championship, as defeated Anderson Silva via second-round TKO at GLORY 33, which took place Friday night at the Sun National Bank Center in Trenton, New Jersey.

Verhoeven completely dominated the fight. While the first round saw no knockdowns, Verhoeven was clearly able landing more of his strikes than Silva (41-15-1, 26 KOs). Verhoeven continued that performance in the next round, where he dropped Silva three times — with the last one coming with three seconds left in the round — to gain the TKO win.

While one champion retained his title, a new champion was also crowned at the event. During the Superfight Series bouts (the undercard shown on UFC Fight Pass), Jason Wilnis challenged Simon Marcus for the GLORY middleweight title. In the second round of the bout, Marcus went into a corner, arrogant and cocky, smiling at Wilnis, giving Wilnis the opportunity to deliver shots, and the ref gave an eight count. With Marcus coming out seemingly overly aggressive in the third round, Wilnis was able to knock down Marcus three times within 1:14 of the third round, earning him the TKO victory and the title.

The talk of the card, however, was a featherweight fighter from Canada making his GLORY debut — Matt Embree. Embree was one of four featherweights competing in a one-night contender’s tournament at the event. In the first round, Embree defeated Chibin Lin via TKO at the end of round two, while Giga Chikadze defeated Serhiy Adamchuk via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28). Embree then conquered Chikadze at the 1:28 mark of the second round to win the tournament.

GLORY 33 Quick Results

Heavyweight title: Rico Verhoeven def Anderson "Braddock" Silva via technical knockout RD2 2:57

Tournament Final: Matt Embree def Giga Chikadze via KO RD 2 1:28

Guto Inocente def Hedsy Gerges via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Giga Chikadze def Serhiy Adamchuk via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Matt Embree def Chibin Lin via technical knockout (2 knockdowns in tournament round) RD2 3:00

GLORY Superfight Series Quick Results

Middleweight title: Jason Wilnis def Simon "Bad Bwoy" Marcus via technical knockout (3 knockdowns) RD3 1:14

Chi Lewis Parry def Anthony McDonald via technical knockout RD2 3:00

Jessica Gladstone def Daniela Graf via majority decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-29)

Francois Ambang def Daniel Morales via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Kevin Vannostrand def David Moore via technical knockout RD2 (0:35)

Original story:

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More