Verhoeven Wins, Roosmalen Earns Title Back

Rico Verhoeven earned another main event victory, while a new GLORY featherweight champion was crowned and a four-man heavyweight tournament was held at GLORY 41: Holland on May 20.

This GLORY event was unique in that the ESPN3 main card was aired first, followed by the SuperFight Series on UFC Fight Pass.

The GLORY 41 main event saw GLORY heavyweight champion Rico Verhoeven face off with Ismael Lazaar in a non-title contest. While Lazaar fought hard and went the distance with Verhoeven, the GLORY champion was dominant. Verhoeven nearly had a complete sweep, with just one judge giving a round to Lazaar, as the heavyweight champ earned the unanimous decision win.

In the co-main event, the vacant GLORY featherweight championship was on the line, as Robin van Roosmalen faced off with Petpanomrung Kiatmookao. Van Roosmalen had won the title back in October at GLORY 34: Denver, but he was stripped of the title for failing to make weight before his GLORY 37: Los Angeles bout with Matt Embree in January.

Some controversy occurred among the kickboxing community in this bout, as while Kiatmookao hit Roosmalen with a bunch of kicks to the arm, the judges did not seem to count them as effective as other kicks. More controversy, as well as the big turning point in the bout, unfolded in the third round, as Kiatmookao was deducted one point for excessive clinching. With Roosmalen being seen as the more aggressive fighter, in addition to the deduction, Roosmalen scored the majority decision victory and reclaimed the featherweight title.

The ESPN3 main card featured a four-man heavyweight tournament, as Anderson Silva, Giannis Stoforidis, D’Angelo Marshall and Mohamed Abdallah competed. After two TKOs in the semi-finals, Silva and Marshall faced off in the main card’s featured contest. Silva seemed to slow down from his first fight, and that continued throughout the final. Marshall took advantage and despite having a lot fewer kickboxing bouts than Silva, he picked up the upset win.

As a result, Marshall is likely to be the next challenger to Verhoeven and his heavyweight title.

GLORY 41: Holland Superfight Series results:
Non-title: Rico Verhoeven def. Ismael Lazaar via unanimous decision (49-46, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45)
For the vacant GLORY featherweight title: Robin van Roosmalen def. Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao via majority decision (50-45, 47-47, 49-45, 49-45, 48-46)
Murthel Groenhart def. Alan Scheinson via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Mourad Bouzidi def. Michael Duut via DQ (three point deductions) (Rd. 2, 2:18)
Tyjani Beztati def. Youssef Assouik via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
Zakaria Zouggary def. Yetkin Ozkul via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

GLORY 41 main card results:
Heavyweight Tournament Final: Marshall def. Silva via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Hesdy Gerges def. Tomas Hron via unanimous decision (30-24, 30-24, 30-24, 30-24, 30-24)
Chenglong Zhang def. Wilson Sanches Mendes via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-25, 29-26, 29-26)
Heavyweight tournament semifinal: D’Angelo Marshall def. Mohamed Abdallah via TKO (Rd. 1, 0:48)
Heavyweight tournament semifinal: Anderson Silva def. Giannis Stoforidis via TKO (Rd. 2, 2:26)

You might also like
By using our site you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service. X


Breaking News And Highlights Around Boxing, MMA, Kickboxing, Martial Arts and more!

By signing up, you agree to comply with our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.