Wilnis Wins with Controversial Decision

The Novo in Los Angeles, California, filled with boos when hearing the result of the middleweight title main event for GLORY 37, which took place on Friday night.

GLORY middleweight champion Jason Wilnis was declared the victor in his title defense against Israel Adesanya. The judges scored the bout in his favor 49-46, 48-47, 48-47. But many feel the bout was contested even closer than it was scored.

Adesanya got off to a strong start against the champion, utilizing his speed and striking skills to land shots on the champion no matter where he was. Wilnis, meanwhile, fired back with hard shots of his own, focusing on leg kicks and combinations of shots to the head and body. Despite all the hard striking, neither man looked to be going down to the canvas any time soon — and neither one did the whole bout.

Despite the fans’ protests, Adesanya was not too angry with the result.

Elsewhere on the main card, Yoann Kongolo won the welterweight tournament, defeating Konstantin Khuzin in the first round via unanimous decision before going on to earn a knockout victory over Karim Benmansour in the final. Benmansour, who defeated Alan Scheinson by split decision in the other semifinal, was dropped twice in the second round, including a left-hook liver shot delivered to him, which many thought would have ended the fight. Benmansour was floored once more in the third with a right hand, and he was down for the count.

UFC veteran Guto Inocente earned a split decision over D’Angelo Marshall as well on the main card. Despite getting dropped early on in the fight, Marshall battled back the next two rounds to force a sudden victory round. Inocente used his fighting experience against the GLORY newcomer to edge out the win, earning 10-9 decisions across the board in the round.

Finally, Robin van Roosmalen was scheduled to defend the GLORY featherweight championship against Matt Embree, but Rossmalen failed to make weight, stripping him of his championship. The fight went on as planned as the main event of the GLORY 37 SuperFight Series, but with changed stipulations — Embree could win the title with a victory, and van Roosmalen could become the number one contender with a win. Van Roosmalen and Embree fought hard for three straight rounds, but in the fourth, Embree was hit with a left hook to the liver, and van Roosmalen continued an onslaught of punches against the ropes. Referee John McCarthy had no choice but to stop the bout about two minutes into the fourth, giving van Roosmalen the win and a shot to earn the featherweight title back.

GLORY 37: Los Angeles Main Card Results:
GLORY middleweight championship: (c.) Jason Wilnis def. Israel Adesanya via unanimous decision
GLORY welterweight tournament finals: Yoann Kongolo def. Karim Benmansour via KO (Rd. 3, 2:57)
Guto Inocente def. D’Angelo Marshall via unanimous decision in sudden victory
GLORY welterweight tournament semifinal: Karim Benmansour def. Alan Scheinson via split decision
GLORY welterweight tournament semifinal: Yoann Kongolo def. Konstantin Khuzin via unanimous decision

GLORY 37 SuperFight Series Results:
Robin van Roosmalen def. Matt Embree via KO (Rd. 4)
Jhonata Diniz def. Tomas Mozny via unanimous decision
Warren Thompson def. Mike Lemaire via unanimous decision
Zoila Frausto def. Daniela Graf via unanimous decision
Giga Chikadze def. Victor Pinto via KO (Rd. 1)

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More